Downey snatches dramatic Dunloy Open race win

Thursday, 1 June 2017

Downey snatches dramatic Dunloy Open race win thumbnailAction from Dunloy Cycling Club’s annual Open Race event.

ETHAN Downey (Clann Eireann) and Conor Gallagher (Castlebar CC) staged a classic breakaway and sprinted together in the combined A123 Race in Dunloy Cycling Club's annual Open Race event.
From more than sixty starters, Downey came out top in the race for the line after four laps of the gruelling eighteen mile Millbrae Circuit. Dale Bonnar from Ballymena Road Club took the spoils in the A4 race with Darren McCann (Dromara Cycling Club) and Peadar O'Mochlain (Emyvale Cycling Club) coming home in second and third places respectively.
Lisa Lamont from Team Madigan won the Ladies' race while Chris McCann from Phoenix Cycling Club emerged victorious in the M50 Masters event.
“Dunloy Cycling Club wishes to thank all the event sponsors," said a spokesperson. "Their appreciation also goes out to those who assisted in any way."
A1, 2 and 3 Race results: 1. Ethan Downey (Clann Eireann), 2. Conor Gallagher (Castlebar CC), 3. Nathan Mullin (Dromara CC), 4. John Morton (Harps CC), 5. Shane Smith (Moynalty CC).
A4 Race results: 1. Dale Bonnar (Ballymena RC), 2. Darren McCann (Dromara CC), 3. Peadar O'Mochlain (Emyvale CC), 4. Ciaran McSherry (Clann Eireann), 5. Stephen Coney (Island Wheelers).
Ladies' Race results: 1. Lisa Lamont (Team Madigan), 2. Mabel Higgins (Dunloy CC), 3. Julie Mulligan (Strule Wheelers).
M50 Masters' Race results: 1. Chris McCann (Phoenix CC), 2. Willy Gill (Ards CC), 3. John Rafferty (NDCC).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete